How does t. n. t. explode?

TNT or trinitrotoluene, an extremely powerful but relatively insensitive and stable, highly explosive compound, rapidly decomposes into a gas (or detonates) after being exposed to the high-speed shockwave created from a nearby smaller initiator explosion or the impact of a high-velocity projectile.