Do deer lose their antlers every year?

Mule deer, whitetail deer and other ungulates shed their antlers once a year. It can take as little as 24-48 hours for the antlers to actually fall off, but the shedding process takes between two to three weeks and then new antlers will regenerate throughout the summer.