Who gave the eiffel tower to france?

The Eiffel Tower was constructed to be the entrance to the 1889 World's Fair and is still the tallest building in Paris. It was not a gift. You might be thinking of the Statue of Liberty, which was designed by the same architect and was a gift to the people of the US.