How does a spirit box work?

A spirit box is a tool used by paranormal investigators that works by scanning local radio frequencies at a rapid rate, silencing the background and white noise, and broadcasting or recording any sounds that may be transmitted by nearby spirits throughout the frequency.

---

A radio with a frequency scanning function, disable the bit that stops it scanning when it finds a station — and presto, instant ghost box. The radio then permanently jumps though available frequencies, playing each one for a fraction of a second. The various sounds from snatches of transmission,