What happens when two sons collide?

Stars rarely collide, but when they do, the result depends on factors like mass and speed. When two stars merge slowly, they can create a new, brighter star called a blue straggler. If two stars traveling at a fast pace hit, they'll likely leave behind only hydrogen gas.