What causes eye boogers?

Eyes have water and oil to keep them lubricated and sometimes when a person is a little dehydrated this causes the solution to crust.

---

Eye boogers refer to a buildup of mucus in the eyes. During the day, each time a person blinks, the eyes flush away the boogers they have produced. Since the eyes produce this mucus in such small quantities, most people never notice it. At night, when a person does not blink, the mucus can build up.