Can you store onions and potatoes together?

The reason, as the food safety experts at Penn State Univ. point out, is that onions and potatoes can release moisture and gases that will cause the other to spoil faster. prevent your spuds and onions from rotting too quickly, keep them separate and store each in a cool, dry, well-ventilated place.