What are the characteristics of a good husband?

This depends on you and your needs. Affection. He gives you the affection you deserve as his wife. Independence. He doesn't rely on his parents or your parents to provide you and your children with food, shelter etc.. Leadership. Loyalty. Self-love. Trust. Knowledge. Truthfulness. Support.