What is a blue whale?

A blue whale is a marine mammal. It is the largest animal ever known to have existed, reaching lengths of nearly 100 feet long and weighing as much as 220 tons. A member of the baleen whales, it has no teeth so its diet consists of small prey that is easily swallowed.