How do you know when ginger is bad?

You can tell ginger is bad in two ways by smell and touch. Rotten ginger will not smell as strong and will be accompanied by a sharp unpleasant smell. Another reliable sign is a change in the texture. If raw ginger turns out to be soft or mushy, then toss it out.