How old was michael phelps when he won his first gold medal?

At the age of nineteen, Michael Phelps won six gold medals and two bronze medals at the 2004 Athens Olympics. He made his Olympic debut at the 2000 Games in Sydney at the age of fifteen, but did not medal.