How many states do not follow daylight savings time?

Hawaii and Arizona are the only two states that do not observe daylight savings time. However, there are several overseas territories that do not observe daylight savings time. Those territories include American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.