What is the missing link in evolution?

'Missing link' is a colloquial term for the concept of a transitional form fossil. It is generally avoided in scientific discussions as it is suggestive of several misunderstandings about evolution. Many transitional forms, such as Tiktaalik and Acanthostega, have been found and documented.