How did ant man become ant man?

Dr. Henry 'Hank' Pym discovered a chemical substance, which he called Pym Particles, that would allow him to alter his size. He armed himself with a helmet that could control ants. He could shrink down to the size of an insect to become the crime fighting Ant-Man.