When was balance of nature invented?

The balance of nature is a natural phenomenon. In grasslands if there is more than usual rain there is more grass to eat by grazing animals. More animals would grow to consume the grass. If there is less rain then there would be less grass resulting in fewer animals. It can take years for the cycle.