When do you plant ginger?

The best time to plant ginger is during early to mid spring, as it cannot survive in cold climates and thus will not undergo frost. However, you can also have it indoors to prevent this. Plant the ginger root will the cut side facing the ground, and bury about 3 cm into the soil.