How many satellites does the u. s. have in space?

According to UNOOSA, in history a total of 8,378 objects have been launched into space. Currently, 4,994 are still in orbit – although 7 of them are in orbit around celestial bodies other than the Earth; meaning there are 4,987 satellites whizzing around above our heads every single day.