Do you have to remove toilet to snake?

No, you do not have to remove the toilet to snake. You can get snake rooters narrow and flexible enough to slide into the curves of the toilet to work out the clog. If a hard or solid object is jammed or wedged in the plumbing, it may require removing the toilet.