How to luau a pig?

The whole pig is cooked for 6-8 hours in a pit. It is very important to use the right firewood to heat up the lava rocks that will be used to cook the pig. The cleaned and seasoned pig is laid to cook over the hot rocks and covered with more banana leaves and a wet burlap to retain moisture.