What does it mean if a dog has a dry nose?

(Sometimes it simply means your pet hasn't licked its nose in a while.) But accompanied by other symptoms, a rough, flaky nose can indicate underlying health problems. Your dog's dry nose needs immediate treatment to reduce discomfort and improve their sense of smell.