What are the white spots in your fingernails?

Leukonychia (or leuconychia), is a medical term for white discolouration appearing on nails. It is derived from the Greek words leuko ("white") and onyx ("nail"). The most common cause is injury to the base of the nail (the matrix) where the nail is formed.