Why do they call candy corn candy corn?

"Chicken Feed" was the original name of the candy with production starting in the 1880s. Wunderlee Candy Company was the first to produce the candy. Along with other agriculture-inspired treats at the time America's confectioners sought to market candy corn to a largely rural society.