Who is the most decorated war veteran?

David Hackworth is likely the most decorated war veteran with 90 decorations, citation and awards across a career spanning World War II to Vietnam. Often Audie Murphy is credited with the most decorated sobriquet due to his 33 medals earned in only 27 months of combat.