Why are carrots called carrots?

The word is from the Greek for ‘horn’ because of the carrot’s shape. The word Carrot is first recorded in English circa 1530 and was borrowed from Middle French carotte, itself from Latin carōta, from Greek karōtón, originally from the Indo-European root *ker- (horn), due to its horn-like shape.