What is the difference between red wine vinegar and balsamic vinegar?

The fermentation process of red wine vinegar is shorter than that of balsamic vinegar. Red wine vinegar has a dark red color and a sour taste, whereas balsamic vinegar has a deep brown color and a sweet, fruity flavor.