How are beans classified?

Botanically, beans are classified into a group of plant foods known as legumes. All legumes are members of a family of flowering plants called Fabaceae, also known as Leguminosae. These plants produce fruits and seeds inside a pod sometimes considered their own food group.

---

Beans are a type of legume.