How big is chicago?

The city of Chicago is the 3rd largest in the US, based on population, with 2.7 million people. The city's footprint (by land area) makes it the 20th largest city with 227 sq miles, yet the metropolitan area matches the population ranking for third place, with over 9.8 million people.