What is it mean you can't have your cake and eat it too?

"You can't have your cake and eat it, too" means that you can't have it both ways. You must make some sort of decision in life, either one way or the other. If you choose one path, you can't also go down the other way at the same time, just as you cannot eat a cake and still keep it sitting there.