Where did the word bobby pin come from?

The bobby pin was invented by Luis Marcus, a San Francisco–based cosmetics manufacturer, after World War I and came into wide use as the hairstyle known as the bob cut or bobbed hair took hold. Although Marcus thought about naming the pin after himself he named them bobby after the bobbed hairstyle.

---

In 1899 the bobby pin came into wide use as the hairstyle known as the "bob cut " or "bobbed hair" took hold. It was invented in Paris by Luis Marcus. This trend gained popularity in the 1920s because the hair grips kept their bobbed hair in place.