How old was joan crawford when she made whatever happened to baby jane?

According to Bustle, Joan Crawford and Bette Davis were in their mid-fifties when "Baby Jane" was filmed. Crawford offered Davis the leading role in an effort to put two women of their age into a movie since the studios would no longer cast women of their age. It received 5 Oscar nominations.