What is the meaning of the word petty?

Literally, “petty” means small. (I.e., “petty theft” as opposed to “grand theft.”) In everyday use, it describes something as insignificant, in contrast to things which have genuine importance (I.e., “He is more interested in making petty complaints than in solving the real problem.”)