How long do you cook brown lentils?

Cook on a stovetop, using 3 cups of liquid to 1 cup of dry lentils. Be sure to use a large enough saucepan as the lentils will double or triple in size. Bring to a boil, cover tightly, reduce heat and simmer until they are tender. The cook time is typically 15 to 20 minutes.