What's the world record for holding a breath?

Breath holding records change frequently. The current record is 11 minutes, 54 seconds, achieved by freediver Branko Petrovic in 2014 in a swimming pool in Dubai. The longest time a female has held her breath is 9 minutes, 2 seconds, by Natalia Molchanova in a swimming pool in Serbia in 2013.