What's the u. v. i. index?

Per the EPA.GOV WEBSITE: The UV Index forecasts the expected risk for UV radiation exposure from the sun. This index is published by the EPA for most ZIP codes across the U.S and is useful for planning outdoor activities and reducing risk of sunburn.