What's the name of the rat in the ninja turtles?

Splinter is the mutant rat sensei and adoptive father of the Ninja Turtles. In the 1987 cartoon, Splinter (voiced by Peter Reneday) is Hamato Yoshi, mutated into a mutant brown rat alongside the Turtles, who he rescued from accidentally getting dropped down a storm drain after moving to New York.