What's windows nine?

Microsoft referred to Windows 10 as “Threshold,” (Halo universe). The press called it “Windows 9.” And yet on September 30, 2014, Microsoft surprised us all by announcing “Windows 10” instead. The reason why had a lot to do with the previous major version of Windows, Windows 8. from HOWTOGEEK