What is project freelancer?

Overview. Project Freelancer is a Special Operations program created to study soldiers with A.I. implants during the war with the aliens. The main mission of Project Freelancer, as said by F.I.L.S.S., is to ensure the survival of humanity in a hostile galaxy.