Does water have a taste?

Pure water doesn't stimulate your taste buds directly, but it can sometimes still have a taste. That's because your tongue becomes habituated to the taste of the chemicals in your saliva. When you rinse those away with water, your taste receptors will 'rebound' with an opposite taste sensation.