What is pomegranates?

Pomegranates are red, round fruits that feature a white inner flesh that's densely packed with edible seeds.

---

The pomegranate is a fruit-bearing deciduous shrub in the family Lythraceae, that grows between 5 and 10 meters tall. The shrub has multiple spiny branches and is long-lived, with some specimens in France surviving for 200 years. The fruit has a thick reddish husk & lots of seeds inside.