What are gamma rays made out of?

Gamma rays are composed of high energy photons, which are a form of electromagnetic radiation. Visible light, infrared, ultraviolet, x-rays and radio waves are also composed of photons. The difference between them is the energy of the photons. Gamma ray photons have the highest energy of all.