What are butterfly stitches?

Steri-Strips or butterfly bandages, are narrow adhesive bandages that are used instead of traditional stitches (sutures) to close small, shallow, non-bleeding and non-infected cuts in areas that are relatively flat, dry, hairless and not near joints.