Why do dogs smell butts?

A butt sniff for dogs is like a handshake for humans. Dogs' amazing sense of smell is 10,000 to 100,000 times better than humans. They also have a special part of their noses called the Jacobson's organ that lets them ignore the smell of poop when they sniff another dog's rear.

---

When a dog smells another's butt, it gets information about the other dog. It's almost like someone introducing themselves to another person.