Tell me about the battleship yamamoto?

Yamato was the lead ship of her class of battleships built for the Imperial Japanese Navy shortly before World War II. Yamato fired her main guns at enemy surface targets was in October 1944, when she was sent to engage American forces invading the Philippines during the Battle of Leyte Gulf.