What gets rid of fruit flies?

Traps work best. Put a small piece of fruit in a bowl, cover with clear plastic wrap, poke a few holes and wait. Catch a bunch, throw it out and do it again. Also: don't attract them in the first place. If you have an open door or window make sure your fresh fruit is covered and your trash, too.