What does hydrocortisone cream do?

This medication is used to treat a variety of skin conditions (for example insect bites, poison oak or ivy, eczema, dermatitis, allergies, rash). Hydrocortisone reduces the swelling, itching, and redness that can occur in these types of conditions.