What's the difference between a pumpkin and a gourd?

Pumpkins are just a type of squash, as is butternut squash or acorn squash. The word "gourd," on the other hand, is meant to represent a different branch of the Cucurbitaceae family, although some people use it to mean squash as well. So a pumpkin could be a type of gourd to those people.