Where did the lamps come from?

As the new energy sources were discovered, new kinds of lamps were invented.In the 19th century, the kerosene lamps were introduced in Germany.It was a container with a kerosene in which wick or mantle was dipped that burned.Container had glass chimney or a globe, which protected flame from a draft.