How hot does water need to be to sterilize?

To sanitize water for drinking, the EPA recommends boiling the water for at least 1 minute, at altitudes up to 5,000 feet. At higher elevations, water should be boiled for 3 minutes. So that's 212 degrees F (at sea level) to reliably kill bacteria and pathogens to make water potable.