What year did betsy ross make the american flag?

Although she purportedly sewed the first flag in 1776, Ross wasn't credited with this work during her lifetime. In fact, her story was first publicly relayed to the Historical Society of Pennsylvania nearly a century later, in 1870, by her grandson, William Canby.