How do you cook dry red beans?

First wash the dry red beans. Place beans in a large pot; cover with fresh water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer gently until beans are tender but firm. Most beans will cook in 45 minutes to 2 hours depending on the variety. You can soak overnight for a softer bean.